Entries to the FPA Media Awards 2022 are now open.

Please head over to our dedicated Awards website for more info.

The FPA's External Judges for our 2022 edition #FPAawards22:


MICHAEL CRICK was a founder member of Channel 4 News, where he worked as Foreign Correspondent from Washington (1988-90) and Political Correspondent (2011-19). At the BBC he was a reporter for Panorama and Political Editor for Newsnight (2007-11). Crick's books include biographies of Arthur Scargill, Jeffrey Archer, Michael Heseltine, Sir Alex Ferguson and, most recently, Nigel Farage. He has won the Royal Television Society [RTS] awards in 1989 and 2002, and was the RTS Specialist Journalist of the Year in both 2014 and 2018.  Also in 2018, Crick was given the Charles Wheeler/British Journalism Review award for Outstanding Contribution to Broadcast Journalism. 

STRYKER MCGUIRE is an Anglo-American journalist living in London. He spent 30 years at Newsweek, where he was a correspondent, bureau chief, senior editor and chief of correspondents. He ran the London bureau from 1996 until he retired from the magazine in 2008. In 2000 he won the FPA's Best Foreign Reporting Award. In 2010, Stryker was retained by the London School of Economics to create a magazine, LSE Research, that highlighted the work of university academics. In 2011, he became a senior editor at Bloomberg Markets magazine; he retired last year. He continues to write occasionally for The Washington Post, The New European and other publications.


MEGHA MOHANis the BBC World Service's first global gender and identity correspondent. She covers issues concerning race and ethnicity, women's rights and LGBT communities for the BBC's 41 language services. She has travelled to and reported from six continents and secured exclusive interviews with Finland's all-women coalition government and Samoa's first woman Prime Minister. Megha is a deployment journalist who files longform original features for BBC World TV, radio, online and social media



Chair of the Judges:

Alessandro Allocca - La Repubblica/Londra Italia (Italy)

(previous winner of the FPA Best Story on Britain in 2020)









Here are the winners of the #FPAawards21.

To find out more, please head over to our dedicated awards website












- FPA Member Story of the Year in a Foreign Language:

Niklaus Nuspliger, Natalie Wenger (Graphics)

Glasgow, die Drogenhölle Europas (Glasgow, Europe’s Drug Hell)

Neue Zürcher Zeitung (NZZ), Switzerland


- Environment Story of the Year:

Ivana Kottasová, Swati Gupta, Helen Regan

The Pandemic Gave the World a Golden Opportunity to Fix the Climate Crisis, We’re About to Waste It.


- TV News Story of the Year:

Robert Moore, Mark Davey, Sophie Alexander

Storming of the Capitol

ITV News

- Print & Web Story of the Year:

Ed Caesar

Rocket Men

The New Yorker - USA

- Radio/Podcast of the Year:

Basia Cummings, Matt Russell, Claudia Williams

Left to Die: Escape from the Amarula

Tortoise Studios

- Story about Britain by a Full FPA Member:

Olivia Konotey-Ahulu

How London’s Property Boom Left Black Britons with Nothing

Bloomberg Equality + Wealth

- Travel & Tourism Story of the Year:

Samira Shackle

How Western Travel Influencers got Tangled Up in Pakistan’s Politics

Guardian Long Read

- Financial/Economic Story of the Year:

Jonathan Nunn

Gulp! The Secret Economics of Food Delivery

1843 Magazine

- TV Documentary Story of the Year:

Richard Bentley, Sam Forsdike

The Man Who Fell from the Sky

Postcard Productions for Channel 4

- Arts & Culture Story of the Year:

Florence Phillips, Meenakshi Ravi, Daniel Turi

The Listening Post - The Battle for the BBC

Al Jazeera English

- Thomson Foundation Young Journalist of the Year:

Kai Hui Wong, Malaysia

Online/Multimedia Journalist, Malaysiakini

- Science Story of the Year:

Madlen Davies, Rosa Furneaux, Iván Ruiz, Jill Langlois, Chrissie Giles, Ben du Preez

‘Held to Ransom’: Pfizer Demands Governments Gamble with State Assets to Secure Vaccine Deal

The Bureau of Investigative Journalism

- Journalist of the Year 2021:

Robert Moore - ITV News

Previous Winners of the Journalist of the Year Award:

2020 Maria Ressa, Rappler

2019 Namak Koshnaw, BBC Arabic

2018 Wa Lone and Kyaw Soe Oo, Reuters

2017 Daniel Taylor, The Guardian

2016 Marcel Mettelsiefen, Channel 4

2015 Martin Chulov, The Guardian

2014 Ed Caesar, New Yorker 

2013 Anthony Loyd, The Times

2012 Paul Wood, BBC 

Special posthumous award to Marie Colvin, Sunday Times

2011 Nick Davies, The Guardian

2010 Anthony Thomas, Mentorn & HBO and Saeed Kamali Dehghan, The Guardian

2009 Martin Hickman, The Independent


In previous years, our Guests of Honour and Keynote Speakers have included:

- Hon Fabien Picardo, Chief Minister of Gibraltar

- Senator Mario Monti, Former Prime Minister of Italy 

- HM Queen Rania Al-Abdullah of Jordan 

- HRH the Prince of Wales

- HM King Felipe VI of Spain 

- Prime Minister Boris Johnson (when Mayor of London)

- Rt Hon Carwyn Jones, former First Minister of Wales

- Christophe Deloire, Secretary General of RSF

  (Reporters Without Borders)

- three former British Foreign Secretaries 

- the former US Ambassador Matthew Barzun 

- Sir Venki Ramakrishnan, Nobel Prize Winner and first ever Indian President of the Royal Society.

HM Queen Rania of Jordan is, to date, the only-ever recipient of the FPA Humanitarian of the Year Award, which she received in 2016 (see here).


Every year, the guest list for the Awards is made up of around 350-400 influential members of the British and International media, UK politicians, business leaders, foreign government representatives and other leading opinion makers.


Michael Crick.png
Megha Mohan - BBC.jpg