The 2020 edition of the FPA Media Awards will be held virtually as a live reveal at 1900 GMT on 23 November 2020 on this website and on our social media channels.

#FPAawards20 Entries have now closed.

Categories for FPA Media Awards 2020:

Open to FPA Members only:

- FPA Member Story of the Year on Britain

- FPA Member Story of the Year on Britain in a Foreign Language

Opent to all journalists:

- Print & Web Story of the Year

- TV News Story of the Year

- Financial/Economic Story of the Year

- Arts & Culture Story of the Year

- TV Documentary of the Year

- Radio/Podcast Story of the Year

- Environment Story of the Year

- Science Story of the Year

- Travel & Tourism Story of the Year

- Thomson Foundation Young Journalist of the Year

The FPA is grateful to our External Judges for our 2020 edition:


SEYI RHODES is a British television presenter and investigative journalist of Nigerian descent. He has worked for the BBC, Channel 4, Five Television and Current TV. From 2008, he has been the in-vision presenter and reporter for Channel 4's Unreported World documentary series, produced by Quicksilver Media. He is a former winner of the FPA Media Awards.

SARAH SANDS is a British journalist and author. She has recently stepped down as editor of the Today programme on BBC Radio 4 which she has edited since 2017. She became the first female editor of The Sunday Telegraph, a consultant editor on the Daily Mail, and the editor of the Evening Standard. Sands sits on the board of Index for Censorship and is the author of 3 novels.

JOHN LLOYD  is an award-winning journalist and author and is currently contributing editor to the Financial Times. He has worked for the FT for over 20 years and has also been editor of The New Statesman and a columnist for The Times. He co-founded the Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism at the University of Oxford and sits on the editorial board of Prospect, the advisory board of the Moscow School of Political Studies, and is a columnist for daily newspaper La Repubblica, Italy.

Chair of the Judges 2020​:

Marco Varvello - Rai TV Public broadcasting (Italy)

External Judges 2020:

Seyi Rhodes

Sarah Sands

John Lloyd

Internal Judges 2020 -  **denotes Head Judge:

Yannis Andritsopoulos - Ta Nea (Greece)

Victoria Craw**- News.com.au (Australia)

Stefanie Bolzen - Die Welt (Germany)

Henriette Engbersen - SRF TV Public Broadcasting (Switzerland)

Johann Harscoet - L'Echo (Belgium)

Catherine Ilic - SRF (Switzerland)

Alex Khabarov** - RTR TV (Russia)

Aditi Khanna - Press Trust of India (India)

Yukiko Kishimoto** - Nippon TV (Japan)

Bruno Manteigas - Lusa News Agency (Portugal)

Richard Place - Radio France (France)

Sabrina Provenzani** - L'Espresso/Il Fatto Quotidiano (Italy)

Tayfun Salci - Freelance (Turkey)

Anna Senkara - TVN (Poland)

Yasmeen Serhan** - The Atlantic (USA)

Annamari Sipila** - Helsingin Sanomat (Finland)

Alexander Smotrov** - Global Counsel (formerly RIA Novosti, Russia)

Thomas Spickhofen - ARD Radio (Germany)

Loveena Tandon - India Today (India)

Fernanda Zaffari - TV Bandeirantes (Brazil)

Carsten Volkery - Handelsblatt (Germany)

Paul Waldie - The Globe and Mail (Canada)


Here are the WINNERS for last year -  #FPAawards19

- FPA Member TV & Radio Story of the Year 2019:

Nima Elbagir

Made in America, lost in Yemen.


- TV News Story of the Year 2019:

John Sudworth, Kathy Long, Lulu Luo, Wang Xiqing

Uigher families separated

BBC News

- Radio/Podcast Story of the Year 2019:

Anna Cavell, Kate West, Gail Champion

The Orphanage Business

BBC File on 4

- FPA Member Print & Web Story of the Year 2019:

Elodie Goulesque

The forgotten death of Dawn Sturgess

Explicite, France

- Print & Web Story of the Year 2019:

Louise Callaghan

Inside Syria: doctors who risk death every day

The Sunday Times

- Financial/Economic Story of the Year 2019:

Samanth Subramanian

Hand dryers v paper towels: the surprising dirty fight for the right to dry your hands

The Guardian Long Read

- TV Documentary Story of the Year 2019:

Namak Khoshnaw, Tom Roberts, Kai Lawrence, Christopher Mitchell, Tim Awford

Iraq: a state of mind 

BBC Arabic

- Science & Environment Story of the Year 2019:

Jonathan Watts

Concrete: the most destructive material on Earth 

Guardian Cities

- Arts & Culture Story of the Year 2019:

Leo Robson

After Darkness

1843 Magazine, The Economist 

- Thomson Foundation Young Journalist of the Year 2019:

Meiryum Ali, Pakistan

Producer/Correspondent, Soch Videos

  1. How money laundering works

  2. Evictions and Slum clearance

  3. Empress Market


- Best Foreign Language Story about Britain 2019:

Stefanie Bolzen 

My family at war

Welt am Sonntag, Germany

- Sports Story of the Year 2019:

Tom Lamont

Dulwich Hamlet FC: the tale of a tiny football club that lost its home and won it back

The Guardian Long Read

- Travel & Tourism Story of the Year 2019:

Margaret Simons, Dave Tacon

Sex Tourism- 'Do you ever think about me?'- the children sex tourists leave behind 

The Guardian Weekend Magazine

- Journalist of the Year 2019:


Previous Winners of the Journalist of the Year Award:

2019 Namak Koshnaw, BBC Arabic

2018 Wa Lone and Kyaw Soe Oo, Reuters

2017 Daniel Taylor, The Guardian

2016 Marcel Mettelsiefen, Channel 4

2015 Martin Chulov, The Guardian

2014 Ed Caesar, New Yorker 

2013 Anthony Loyd, The Times

2012 Paul Wood, BBC 

Special posthumous award to Marie Colvin, Sunday Times

2011 Nick Davies, The Guardian

2010 Anthony Thomas, Mentorn & HBO and Saeed Kamali Dehghan, The Guardian

2009 Martin Hickman, The Independent


In previous years, our Guests of Honour and Keynote Speakers have included:

- Hon Fabien Picardo, Chief Minister of Gibraltar

- Senator Mario Monti, Former Prime Minister of Italy 

- HM Queen Rania Al-Abdullah of Jordan 

- HRH the Prince of Wales

- HM King Felipe VI of Spain 

- Prime Minister Boris Johnson (when Mayor of London)

- Rt Hon Carwyn Jones, former First Minister of Wales

- Christophe Deloire, Secretary General of RSF

  (Reporters Without Borders)

- three former British Foreign Secretaries 

- the former US Ambassador Matthew Barzun 

- Sir Venki Ramakrishnan, Nobel Prize Winner and first ever Indian President of the Royal Society.

HM Queen Rania of Jordan is, to date, the only-ever recipient of the FPA Humanitarian of the Year Award, which she received in 2016 (see here).


Every year, the guest list for the Awards is made up of around 350-400 influential members of the British and International media, UK politicians, business leaders, foreign government representatives and other leading opinion makers.


Final Judges' Meeting 2019

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle

© 2018 by DB for FPA. Proudly created with Wix.com